Stranger Things: Booklist Readalikes

It’s creepy and it’s kooky, mysterious and spooky.  It’s altogether ooky, it’s a Stranger Things inspired . . .

evanston-booklist

If you’re anything like me then you’ve binged on Stranger Things, the 8-part Netflix series that pays homage to roughly 500 different 80s films, books, and tropes.  But once the viewing’s over you may find yourself craving more more more.  Let us help!  Here then is a booklist to feed that demi-gorgon sized-hunger for books of a Stranger Things-like ilk.  All of these books are available through the Evanston Public Library.

It by Stephen King

It

Like the new cover?  There will be an even newer one in January when the new film comes out (no Tim Curry anymore, sorry).  Like Stranger Things, this book has a group of scrappy kids battling it out against an unnameable evil.  So who would win in a fight?  The monster or Pennywise?

Boy’s Life by Robert McCammon

BoysLife

A child goes missing.  Another child searches for her.  Creepy stuff abounds.

Dean Koontz: A New Collection by Dean Koontz

Watchers

From everything I’ve heard, Watchers by Dean Koontz is the book to read if you’re a Stranger Things fan.  The plot reads, “Two creatures, the end result of experiments in genetic engineering and enhanced intelligence, escape from a government laboratory and bring either doom or a touching new kind of love to those they encounter.”  We don’t have it by itself, but we do have it in this lovely three book collection.

Ready Player One by Ernest Cline

ReadyPlayer

An alternate reality where there are lots of 1980s references?  Don’t mind if I do!  And with a movie on the horizon, expect this one to prove pou

The Talisman by Stephen King

Talisman

Little surprise that there’s a lot of Stephen King on this list.  The man basically inspired the series in the first place.  This book of his isn’t quite as well know but it’s up there.  In it a boy must flip between one plane of existence and another, avoiding the baddies along the way.

My Best Friend’s Exorcism by Grady Hendrix

MyBest

This one’s got it all!  A nice 1988 setting.  Creepy woods.  And teenagers who do battle with a great evil.  Though, to be honest, the title says it all.

The Good House by Tananarive Due

GoodHouse

Part of the reason Stranger Things works as well as it does is that it’s able to weave together so many different horror elements seamlessly.  There’s even a bit of the old haunted house to it.  Though, if you want a truly haunted house, this one should be right up your alley.

The Girl With all the Gifts by M.R. Carey

GirlGifts

A story about a girl with powers (in this case “gifts”) she doesn’t understand?  Don’t mind if I do!

Want even more?  Then check out these additional titles (also available in our collection):

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s